Posted by: KazK | September 8, 2013

Vale Joe Conley (1927 – 2013)

I was extremely saddened to learn that Joe Conley had passed away on July 7, 2013.

Joe Conley was very well known to viewers of The Waltons for his role as Ike Godsey, the Waltons Mountain store owner.

I have been fortunate enough to meet Joe twice at the Waltons International Fan Club reunions, in 2007 and again in 2012.

What a joy it was to chat with him about his time on The Waltons and also to watch him interact with Waltons fans and cast members so enthusiastically.

Ike Godsey was a wonderful character in The Waltons. As the storekeeper he was the person with all of the gossip, the person everyone stopped to chat with when they came in to buy their groceries or post and collect their mail. A single man for the first few seasons, the writers finally introduced the character who was to become his wife in season 3. Ronnie Claire Edwards came onto the show to create the character of Corabeth. Corabeth, from Doe Hill, was a Walton cousin who came to stay awhile and became Corabeth Godsey.

Joe Conley seemed to really enjoy being a part of The Waltons, and was a very early supporter of the Waltons International Fan Club.

I thought visitors to this blog might enjoy the following film clip which I shot at the 2012 reunion in Los Angeles. Ronnie Claire Edwards speaks about her working relationship with Joe “Mr Godsey” Conley. Enjoy.

Responses

  1. I grew up in New York City (Bronx) in the 1970’s, and my mother is from South Carolina, we grew up watching the Walton’s and Little House on the Prairie. My favorite was and still is today the Walton’s. Interesting how growing in a big city my mother managed to keep her four kids simple in our home, vs what was outside of our door. I am 46 year young today and I watch the Walton’s as if it is the first time I ever them, and I must admit I am going to make trip to the Walton’s Museum in Virginia, I love the simpler times, love, respect, nature, my goodness I could go on, but the bottom line is there was and will never be another like the Walton’s, thank you (Earl Henry Hamner Jr) for giving the world more than a glimpse of what family really means. Good Night Everyone..


Leave a Reply

Categories

